Computer Science is Elementary Adds Six More Schools

Students participate in computer science learning
Twelve schools in Iowa will transform into models of computer science instruction, in addition to Loess Hills Computer Programming School, the inspiration for the project.
Six additional elementary schools received $50,000 grants each to transform themselves into models of innovative computer science instruction through a joint project of the Iowa Department of Education and the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council. This increases the total number of schools participating in the Computer Science is Elementary project to 12 across the state.
The six additional schools to receive support for computer science innovation are:
  • Pocahontas Elementary in the Pocahontas Area Community School District
  • Franklin Elementary in the Boone Community School District
  • Hospers Elementary in the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District
  • Storm Lake Elementary in the Storm Lake Community School District
  • Kingsley-Pierson Elementary in the Kingsley-Pierson Community School District
  • Whittier Elementary in the Clinton Community School District
The six initial schools selected to receive support for computer science innovation are:
  • Denison Elementary in the Denison Community School District
  • Lenihan Intermediate in the Marshalltown Community School District
  • Cora B. Darling Elementary in the Postville Community School District
  • East Union Elementary in the East Union Community School District
  • Perry Elementary in the Perry Community School District
  • Richardson Elementary in the Fort Madison Community School District
The 2019 Legislature appropriated an additional $1 million for the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, which allowed the Council to designate $300,000 for the six additional schools. Private-sector partners contributed $300,000 for the first six schools, plus $50,000 for Loess Hills Computer Programming School in Sioux City, which inspired the project and will continue to serve as a resource. All 12 schools will start their programs by 2020-21.
The Computer Science is Elementary project aligns with Future Ready Iowa, which sets the goal of 70 percent of our workforce having education or training beyond high school by the year 2025. The initiative also focuses on strengthening PreK-12 education and career exploration and preparation.
For additional information about the Computer Science is Elementary project, visit
To Top