New Council Members Join Quest to Advance STEM in Iowa

Gov. Kim Reynolds appointed 22 new members to the STEM Advisory Council.
Gov. Kim Reynolds appointed 22 new members to the STEM Advisory Council.
Among the attributes that distinguish Iowa’s STEM education progress nationally, outstanding members who make up the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council figures prominently. Dedicated stakeholders from education, business and industry, nonprofits, agencies and legislature serve under the leadership of co-chairs Gov. Kim Reynolds and Accumold President and CEO Roger Hargens. This year, twenty-two new members join in setting direction and providing guidance for achieving the STEM Council mission of increasing student interest and awareness in STEM studies and careers.
Governor Reynolds appointed the following 22 new Council members who will bring valuable perspectives toward accomplishing Council goals. New members are:
  • Lisa Atchison-Charleston, Human Capital Manager, Barilla
  • Wendy Batchelder, Head of Enterprise Data Management, VMware
  • Jane Bradley, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, Hawkeye Community College
  • Desmi Chandrasena, U.S. Agricultural Biotechnology Stewardship Technical Committee
  • Benjamin Corell, Adjutant General, Iowa National Guard
  • Senator Christine Cournoyer, State of Iowa
  • Denise Crawford, Associate Professor and Director of the Center for Technology Learning and Teaching, Iowa State University School of Education
  • Shawn Ford, Brigadier General, Iowa National Guard
  • Dan Greteman, Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Ruan Transportation Management Systems
  • Jason Huffman, Partner and Mechanical Engineer, Huffman Welding
  • Sharon Jaeschke, Mathematics Instructor and Robotics Coach, Southeast Valley High School
  • Don Kearney, Associate Director and Systems Architect, Collins Aerospace
  • Chris Kramer, Director, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs
  • Stephanie Laird, Instructional Coach, Mitchellville Elementary School
  • Senator Liz Mathis, State of Iowa
  • Louis Moreno, Student, Drake University
  • Barb Schwamman, Superintendent, Osage and Riceville Schools
  • Steven Triplett, Clinical Instructor and Program Coordinator, The University of Iowa College of Education
  • Georgia Van Gundy, Senior Vice President, Hy-Vee
  • Representative Dave Williams, State of Iowa
  • Emily Wilkerson, Student, Iowa State University
  • Michael Young, Associate Professor of Mathematics and Department Director of Diversity, Iowa State University
We are grateful for the commitment of these new members alongside three dozen current members, to advancing STEM education in Iowa. For a current list of STEM Council members, please visit .
To Top