Six Educators Recognized for Outstanding STEM Teaching

2021 Iowa STEM Teacher Award Recipients

Six educators, one from each of the STEM Regions in Iowa, were recently awarded the 2021 Iowa STEM Teacher Award. Now in its seventh year, the Iowa STEM Teacher Award, sponsored by Kemin Industries, recognizes one full-time, licensed PreK-12 teacher from each of the six Iowa STEM regions for their effectiveness in motivating their students to develop a lifelong interest in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The 2021 STEM Teacher Awardees are:

  • Robbie Cundy, Sioux Center High School, Northwest STEM Region
  • Devan Walker, South East Valley High School, North Central STEM Region
  • Kenton Swartley, Cedar Falls Schools, Northeast STEM Region
  • Nathan VanZante, Lewis Central Middle School, Southwest STEM Region
  • Rebecca Wilson, Van Meter Elementary School, South Central STEM Region
  • Sheryl Kennedy, Camanche Elementary School, Southeast STEM Region

Each recipient was nominated by a colleague, student, parent or community member before completing an application showcasing their work and curriculum. This year, the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council received more than 130 nominations and more than 50 applications from highly qualified teachers.

As a recipient of the 2021 Iowa STEM Teacher Award, each educator receive $1,500 to use for their classroom and $1,500 for personal use. Awardees become valuable assets to the STEM Council as role models, content contributors and allies in a variety of functions.

For more information about the Iowa STEM Teacher Award and the 2021 recipients, visit

To Top