Six Iowa Educators Recognized with 2022 Iowa STEM Teacher Award

Six Iowa teachers receive 2022 Iowa STEM Teacher Award.
Six Iowa teachers receive 2022 Iowa STEM Teacher Award.

The STEM Council is proud to announce the recipients of the 2022 Iowa STEM Teacher Award, sponsored by Kemin Industries.

Northwest Region

Susan Oehlertz
K-12 Technology Integrationist and Computer Science Teacher
Pocahontas Area Community School District

Pocahontas, IA

North Central Region

Jamie Pudenz

Agricultural Science Teacher

Aplington-Parkersburg High School

Parkersburg, IA

Northeast Region

Donna Schmitt

Technology Teacher

Carver Elementary School

Dubuque, IA

Southwest Region

Adam Cox

Science Teacher

Woodbine Community Schools

Woodbine, IA

South Central Region

Kristen Recher

5th Grade Teacher

Northeast Elementary School

Ankeny, IA

Southeast Region

Terri Smith

Technology STEM Teacher

Central Dewitt Middle School

Dewitt, IA

Now in its eighth year, the award recognizes one full-time, licensed PreK-12 teacher from each of the six Iowa STEM regions. Each recipient is honored for their efforts to foster enthusiasm and inspire a passion for STEM that goes beyond the classroom and helps prepare students for future high demand careers.

Each recipient was nominated by a colleague, student, parent or community member before completing an application showcasing their work and curriculum.

As a recipient of the 2022 Iowa STEM Teacher Award, each educator receives $1,500 to use for their classroom and $1,500 for personal use. The six teachers will also be honored in a recognition ceremony during STEM Day at the Fair at the Iowa State Fair in August.

Additional information about the Iowa STEM Teacher Award can be found at

To Top